Being misunderstood?…

A lot has been said about Job’s wife, and most of it isn’t good.

A couple years ago, I watched a wonderful study on the wife of Job, where she is referred to as the most misunderstood woman in the Bible.

You remember Job, he was the one who lost everything (and I mean everything) but kept his trust and his eyes on God.

One thing I found interesting about Job is that while he lost everything and everyone in his life, his wife stayed with him. Trials like the ones Job endured have the power to split a marriage up, but in their case, it didn’t. She stayed with him when he lost everything and when all their family and friends wouldn’t have anything to do with him.

This same wife was the one, at one point in his trials who told him “why don’t you just curse God and die” (paraphrasing). Well, I think she has gotten an awful lot of flack from that one, terrible, verbal decision. Every time I have read this book and this story, I always felt bad for her. I know that Job was the one that all the bad things kept happening to, but she was his wife, she was right there in it with him. Everything that happened affected her as much as it did him.

I just can’t imagine having to bury 10 children! Ten! At the same time. I would pray for God to take me instead, or want to die with them. That kind of loss breaks a person, and I am sure she was broken. And then to lose everything I had, including my home, belongings, and all of my friends and family. And if that wasn’t enough, to watch my husband be consumed with painful sores from his head to the bottoms of his feet. In one really bad day, she lost everything.

I think that whenever anyone reads what she said, their first thought is, “Come on woman, have a little faith!” Because for us reading, we get to know beforehand that God allowed Satan to come down hard on Job because He knew how Job would react and what the outcome would be. His wife, on the other hand, had no idea. So, I think she was just saying/feeling what anyone would say/feel at such a tragic time of abundant loss in her life. I’m sure that this was the lowest, saddest, scariest point in her life. Was it the right thing to say? NO! I am sure she regretted every word.

There are times in everyone’s life when they say something that they would love to take back. I’m sure this is one of those times for Job’s wife…. except her words were written down and on display for all of history to read, over and over and over again. Maybe she wasn’t being bitter, but compassionate toward Job, a way (she thought) to end his suffering. I’m sure it must have been miserable for him and for her to endure.

Whatever she meant by it, I think that what she needed most was prayer, not judgment.

Oh, and here is another thing I found interesting:  the one thing you won’t find in the book of Job is God judging or rebuking Job’s wife. After their trial was over, she and Job had ten more children. They got back everything they lost, twice as much as they had before. The Bible says that Job lived long enough to see four generations of his offspring! I am hoping that his wife also got to see those four generations as well.

Leave a Reply

